Sonia Skarlatos Public Service Award

About the Award

Named for its inaugural co-recipient and tireless gene therapy advocate, the ASGCT’s Sonia Skarlatos Public Service Award recognizes a person or group that has consistently fostered and enhanced the field of gene and cell therapy through governmental agencies, public policy groups, public education, or non-governmental charitable organizations. 

Criteria and Nominations

Both ASGCT members and non-members alike are eligible to receive the award. Nomination letters must be 500 words or fewer and be submitted by one or more ASGCT members. Nominees must be available to give a presentation of their work at the ASGCT Annual Meeting.

Check back to this page for information about 2025 Annual Meeting Awards!


Pat Furlong, Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy (PPMD)

Anthony Fauci, MD, Former Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

P.J. Brooks, PhD, NIH

Larry Corey, MD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Kathleen Neuzil, MD, MPH, FIDSA, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Peter Marks, M.D., Ph.D., Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER), U.S. FDA

The Muscular Dystrophy Association

Francesca Pasinelli, Ph.D. and Fondazione Telethon

George Stamatoyannopoulos, MD, Dr. Sci, University of Washington's School of Medicine

Katherine P. Ponder, MD, Washington University School of Medicine

Rachel Salzman, DVM, The StopALD Foundation

Barbara Netter and Edward Netter, Alliance for Cancer Gene Therapy

Catherine McKeon, PhD, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
Sonia I. Skarlatos, PhD, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute


Register for the ASGCT Policy Summit

September 23-24, 2024 | Washington, D.C.

This site uses cookies to offer you a better user experience and to analyze site traffic. By continuing to use this website, you accept our use of cookies.