Back to Top

Visa Information

Visa Waiver Program (VWP)

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) allows citizens of specific countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business, for 90 days or less, without obtaining a nonimmigrant visa. For a list of participating countries and additional information about the program, visit the U.S. Department of State's Visa Waiver Program webpage.

Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA)

The Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) is an automated system that assists in determining eligibility to travel to the United States under the VWP. ESTA is not a visa. VWP travelers must complete an ESTA application and receive notification of his or her acceptance prior to their visit. Obtain an ESTA now.


All VWP travelers, regardless of age or type of passport used, must present an E-Passport, which has enhanced security features using an embedded chip. Read more about e-passports.

Residents of Canada, Mexico and Bermuda

Canada, Mexico and Bermuda are not participants in the Visa Waiver Program. The Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (WHTI) requires all travelers to and from the Americas, the Caribbean and Bermuda to have a passport or other accepted document that establishes the bearer's identity and nationality to enter or re-enter the United States. Visit the Department of Homeland Security's Crossing Borders website for more information about proper documentation.

Visa Procedures

For those individuals who need to secure a visitor visa (B-1), the following links are helpful:

Dates to Remember

November 1, 2016 - January 31, 2017 (9 a.m. CST)
Abstract Submissions Closed

December 2016
Annual Meeting Registration Opens

April 24, 2017
Abstracts Live Online

May 9, 2017
Pre-Meeting Workshops

May 10 – May 13, 2017
20th Annual Meeting

Support Opportunities

Confirm your support for ASGCT's 2017 Program today! Learn more.

Connect with ASGCT

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Instagram